Hot Cross Gluten-Free, Egg-Free, Dairy-Free Bread

mini-loaf of bread

UPDATE: I have adapted the recipe and made it more akin to “regular” bread. Not 100% GAPS compliant, but fits in to Paleo. A nice variation for special occasions, but not an everyday thing.
——-
This year we are dealing with some dietary setbacks. My son’s allergies that we thought were improving have taen a turn for the worse. He now has asthma which seems to be triggered by pollen, when he has a cold, and other unknown triggers. Luckily his teachers are very aware and helpful with his condition. Another setback has been with my oldest daughter. She has fought skin issues off and on, so we had an allergy test. She is allergic to dairy and eggs! This was especially tough to hear since we have been doing GAPS/Paleo for five years now…plus we raise and sell pastured, organic fed chicken and eggs. For her, it has added to the social awkwardness of eating non-SAD.

With Easter fast approaching, I wanted to experiment with making a gluten-free, dairy free, egg free, nut free bread-like equivalent for Good Friday. I wanted to complete the experiment this weekend so we can make a fresh loaf Friday morning. I read many recipes and read a few posts about ingredient substitutes. I found a combination and method that seem to fit the bill.

Ingredients

  • 2T flax seed meal
  • 6T hot water
  • 1/3 C palm shortening
  • 2T cider vinegar
  • 2 mashed banana
  • 3T honey
  • 1t vanilla extract
  • 1/2 C garbanzo flour
  • 1C rice flour
  • 1/4 C tapioca
  • 1/4 C arrowroot
  • 1t xantham
  • 2t baking soda
  • 1t salt
  • 2t Cinnamon

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Combine flax and water and stir
  3. Combine wet ingredients in a non reactive bowl
  4. In a separate bowl, combine dry ingredients well with a whisk…the cinnamon will provide a visual cue.
  5. Add dry to wet by 1/2 C measure and fold until integrated
  6. Divide the dough equally into three parchment line bread pans. I use mini loaf pans to help maximize crustiness. I have not tried a full sized loaf pan ( if you do, please leave me a comment with your results).
  7. Bake 25-30 minutes. Ovens vary so test with a clean toothpick at 25 minutes.

The consistency of this bread is somewhat dense, like a traditionalpumpkin bread, but not sweet tasting. It works well as a small sandwich bread.

My son has never had a true sandwich before today…so his first sandwich was sunbutter and fruit jam. My daughter went with a ham sandwich. They were all smiles. Even my wife who has a very keen palate gave it a thumbs up. I will say that it does have a bit of a baking soda taste to me, but I suppose you could play with the ratios to balance between taste and airiness.

Leave a comment