Super and Simple GAPS Pancakes

Sunday morning at our house has always meant either Pancake or Waffles for breakfast. While we have never used mixes, we have experimented with lots of recipes. Pre-GAPS I had an amazing recipe that worked flawlessly as pancake or waffle batter (using white whole-wheat flour of course). With GAPS we tried several recipes and never got good results. Either the batter gummed up the waffle iron, or the pancakes were thin as crepes, or they were dull and flavorless. As with all of our recipes, we began with basic tenets we learned from a number of different recipes and adapted our own.

Recommended Equipment:
A flat, thin steel spatula (flat edge, very stiff, and thinner is better); cast iron or stainless steel griddle; Vitamix blender with pusher; 1/4 C disher or scoop; optional Waffle Iron

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 C coconut flour
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1/2 stick pastured butter
  • 2 T raw honey
  • 1/2 ripe banana (or homemade applesauce, pureed pumpkin, or other seasonal fruit)
  • 1/4 t sea salt
  • ground cinammon and nutmeg to taste
  • Optional sauce: 1 lb. fresh or 12oz. frozen berries

Method

  • Preheat griddle
  • Optional sauce: in a small saucepan, heat the berries (covered) over medum-low heat until bubbling. Stir often to prevent scorching.
  • Combine all ingredients in blender. I usually add 1/2 of the wet ingredients, then the coconut flour, then the remainder of the wet ingredients (the flour tends to stick to the side of the blender). Blend until smooth and flour is well distributed. If you double, triple or quadruple the recipe, you may need to use the blender pusher to mix everything thoroughly.
  • Grease the griddle using ghee or pastured butter. Pour 1/4 cup measures of batter onto griddle. Watch for bubbles and cooked edges, 2-3 minutes. Turn over and finish cooking (do not pat or flatten the pancakes), 1-2 minutes.
  • Keep pancakes warmed with a tea towel or oven at 200degrees while cooking batches.
  • Serve warm with pastured butter, berry sauce, my homemade sausage, and raw carrot sticks.
  • OPTIONAL Waffles (we finally tried them this weekend!): preheat waffle iron on a medium heat setting- too high and they will burn and stick and generally cause mayhem. We have a Cuisinart Belgian waffle maker- I use 1/4C batter per quadrant (one waffle is essentially four pancakes)

EDIT: My kids have come to enjoy leftover pancakes used as “bread” for almond-butter and jam sandwiches for school lunches. So we never make less than a quadruple batch (the maximum batter I can make in the Vitamix blender)

11 thoughts on “Super and Simple GAPS Pancakes

  1. Thanks for posting this recipe! We have made them often. Ü Today (Father’s Day) I carefully poured the batter onto my round cast-iron griddle and made it into a crepe style pancake. I sliced strawberries and tossed them with a bit of honey. Then filled my “crepes” with a bit of homemade sour cream and the strawberries. A very nice Father’s Day treat! ~ Candis

    • Thanks for your comment back! I am so pleased to hear about folks enjoying the recipe and taking it in new directions. The creeps idea sounds great. We had family in for the weekend and made the pancakes blueberry style. My family really enjoyed them ( and they are about as “standard American diet” as it gets). Served them with my homemade sausage. We have also started frying up apple rings to top the pancakes which has been a big hit (core the apples, slice them about 1/8″ thick, fry in the sausage grease).

  2. These ARE the most super and simple GAPS pancakes!! My family of 6 can put away a lot of pancakes and it was one of the first recipes I felt like I should figure out as we were starting on GAPS. After trying 4 or 5 other recipes other there in the GAPS/Paleo blogosphere, I landed on yours. A serious hit. I overheard my 6 yr old telling an overnight guest, “Just wait till my mom makes the pancakes. They are even better than regular pancakes!” Adorable. and true. SO THANK YOU! And now off to go make more pancakes….

  3. That was the best breakfast I’ve had since starting my GAPS diet. Seriously–thank you. It felt so awesome to be enjoying my waffles like the old days while knowing I was nourishing my body at the same time. They were SO good! And they cooked so well–the batter was initially runny but rose up well in the griddle and they turned such a lovely golden colour.

    And just as a variation–we added pieces of crisp-cooked bacon onto the batter before closing the lid–sounds weird but it’s incredible. Especially if you enjoy bacon with your waffles anyway. Smother with maple syrup (or in my case, honey) and enjoy!

  4. Hey trying to stay away from dairy so what should I sub for the 1/2 stick butter. I think my son has dairy allergy but I wonder if ghee is okay??? any suggestions?? Thanks!

    • You could try coconut oil. From what I read, ghee is ok for some with dairy allergies. But allergies themselves are an overreaction to proteins in the bloodstream. So even with well-made ghee you risk stray proteins that are not rendered out, which can result in allergic reaction.

      Another idea: along with coconut oil, I have used coconut spread or coconut manna to add richness. Just reduce the amount of oil and make up the difference with the spread or manna.

      • Awesome Thanks!! Just getting started on this journey. My Son has OCD and heartburn/ digestive issues. I am so hoping GAPS will help. He is a wonderful strong and loving teen and is willing to try anything to heal. My other teenage son has Eczema and some asthma issues he is also an awesome creative and kind young man. I’m so glad I home schooled all along so I can be in control of all they eat. Still a little scary though. With God all things are possible. Thanks again. I have been checking out Weston A. Price site also. Any other sites or book tips or anything would be appreciated! 🙂
        🙂

Leave a Reply

